How to Lower Your Facebook CPM?
What is CPM?
CPM is short for Cost per thousand impressions. It is originally the acronym for cost per mille, which in Latin means thousand. This is considered to be the total amount one would pay for 1k impressions on their digital page.
Even though CPM is one of the most popular pricing models for online advertising, it doesn’t evaluate the effectiveness of a marketing campaign. For this reason, marketers tend to prefer tracking other metrics like their click-through rates or costs per click.
When focusing on the brand presence the number of clicks, leads, or sales the campaigns produce is not as significant. The main priority is getting the brand in front of as many online users as possible. Hence, why they pay by a thousand impressions.
How does Facebook calculate CPM?
What Facebook will do is take the total ad spend and divide it by the impressions it received. Then the value is multiplied by 1000 to get the cost of a thousand impressions.
For example, imagine you invest $95 on a campaign and you end up getting 15,000 impressions.
This means that your CPM will end up being $6.3 (CPM=1000*(95/15000).


